Lovey Dovey Time

Standard

I had an idea for a new game. Participants would sit around in a circle and one lucky person would be “it”. The rules are simple…everyone or anyone raises his/her hand and says something nice about “it”. When all lovely thoughts about “it” have been exhausted, everyone chants, “We love you, ___.”

Well, fortunately, someone already had that idea. 

After modeling a lovely writing lesson with a first-grade classroom, Mrs. Hamilton, the classroom teacher, asked if I had time to stay a bit. The class wanted to invite me to something special. As an instructional coach, my work with new teachers had me visiting this classroom regularly. We had just completed a couple of minilessons on adding details.

Of course, I agreed to stay a few minutes for the special event. Mrs. Hamilton announced, “Class, it’s time for lovey dovey time.”

I was instructed to sit in the teacher’s chair at the carpet and the students gathered in a circle around me. After reminding the students of the procedures (see above), they were ready to begin. Students raised their hands, and when called upon, said something nice about me.

“She teaches us to be better writers.”

“I like her glasses!”

“She has a pretty smile.”

“She was nice to me and talked to me about my writing.”

These were just a few of the sweet comments made by my now favorite students! This is also the part of the game I like best! Mrs. Hamilton was the last to make her words of praise known (one of the rules). To end this loveliest of all games, the class said together, “We love you, Mrs. Williams!”

I must say, it was the perfect closure to our lesson. I mean, regardless of the fact I am an adult, my head felt a few sizes larger. Imagine the impact on a small first-grade student.

Still feeling the after-glow of Lovey Dovey Time, I later expressed my feelings to Mrs. Hamilton in an email. Her reasoning for including this special time in her classroom:  “I want kids to learn how to express their feelings in a positive way, AND you always feel better when you give out love!”

9 responses »

  1. What a great way to help kids feel connected to their peers and to promote positive thinking! I have seen a similar strategy used with a ball of wool (yarn). Students stand in a circle and one student starts with the wool, they select another student to give a complement to and then pass the ball to them while still holding in the end of it. In the end there is a giant spider web of compliments that have been passed around.
    Thanks for sharing your slice!

  2. I must say, it was the perfect closure to our lesson. I mean, regardless of the fact I am an adult, my head felt a few sizes larger. Imagine the impact on a small first-grade student.

    How wonderful. We don’t often take the time to tell our colleagues how much we like/appreciate what they do.It is as true for adults as it is for children. This was a great way for that teacher to tell you about the positive impact you were having.

  3. What a great exercise! This type of reinforcement of positive communication skills is so important for our youngsters. I love how the teacher mentions the part of how the Students feel better when you give out love. So true and so important. And isn’t it funny, how even as adults, we can be impacted so greatly by the smallest, sweetest complement? 🙂

  4. I love this story. I make every effort to be positive in life, and this is a nice way to do just that. I’m definitely going to try this with one of my small-groups. Thank you for sghring the idea!

  5. I like that the game was fun and that it let them say nice things to each other. Also if you had a bad day that would be something good to cheer you up.

Leave a Reply

