Letting Go

Standard

“We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.”

Joseph Campbell

I am a planner. I plan lessons, meals, shopping, to-do lists, and trips. I plan days, weeks, and months in advance. When I have a plan, I feel safe. I feel calm. I feel smart.

When I first received my teaching degree, like everyone else, I searched for a job. Driving through the small town with a potential teaching position, I planned where I might live. Excitedly, I wrote out my answers to possible interview questions. The night before, I laid out my outfit for the interview. Much to my disappointment, the job fell through. Looking back, I’m so glad it did. Even though I had to wait a year, I received a teaching position in a wonderful little school in a poor community. Through 19 years, I was able to teach hundreds of students with an exceptional group of educators who became my friends. That job led to the one I hold now, that of a literacy coach.

When I was a young girl, I planned my wedding. Journals were filled with colors, honeymoon destinations, and reception ideas. Lists were made of all the qualities I wanted in my some-day mate. Throughout the years, many frogs were discarded. It wasn’t until I was 46 years old that I found the man of my dreams. We have a wonderful home and family that I love deeply. The years before my marriage were filled with friends, travels to far-away destinations, and many hours spent with my then first-love, teaching.

It’s funny how we plan and study and think and write. But the perfect life is just waiting for us, with no regrets. I will probably never cease planning. It’s my nature. But, I will always hold in the back of my mind that maybe the best part of whatever it is will be the part that is waiting for me. 

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

