End of Break

Standard

While some of you are beginning spring break, mine is just ending. The week has been full, but relaxing. Spring break began with a weekend get-away with my husband. Early in the week, I worked on some home improvement projects. I enjoyed lunch out several afternoons and cooked breakfast for my husband each morning. A couple of naps were taken. Slow mornings with coffee, my journal and the crossword puzzle in the newspaper were savored. 

I’m ready to get back to work. A few teachers and I will try a Twitter Chat with the teachers in our school district. Kindergarten pages will be added to our newly created ELA district website. I will add new articles, websites, and tech resources for fourth quarter to the same website. More modeled lessons, observations, and looking at data with new teachers. And, of course, our state testing is just around the corner.

I’m currently reading Celebrating Writers by Ruth Ayres and Notice and Note:  Strategies for Close Reading by Kyleen Beers. I’m ready to try some new strategies in classrooms that I’ve learned from these books. 

I love the feeling I have after a break from work. The excitement of getting back to it. A fresh outlook. It seems new, yet familiar. Like a new book.

3 responses »

  1. I love this too! The feeling of empowerment…endless possibility…learning always brings! Take these gems and put them to good use, that is, when the weekend is over. 🙂 What are you reading next?

Leave a Reply

