Courageous Battle

Standard

3-4-15

My mom is truly the best mom a girl could want. She is an enthusiastic cheerleader, always encouraging. Not with sappy words of sympathy, but strong words that prompt me to face my fears, to stand up for myself, and to put on my big girl pants and do it! She knows just about everything. With a simple phone call to my mom, I can find out how long to cook something, the location of a place to which I am traveling, or the latest news about a friend or acquaintance. She’s an encyclopedia of helpful tips, a GPS, and Facebook all rolled into one. Energy oozes out of every pore. From taking food to an ill church member to cutting out all my laminating to staying up until she hears I’ve made it home, she’s like a 24-hour convenience store; always open.

Recently, my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer. After the lump was removed, thankfully there were no cancer cells found in her blood, the area around where the tumor was located, or in her lymph nodes. However, as a precautionary measure, she will receive 16 weeks of chemotherapy and six weeks of radiation. Following her first chemo treatment, she has been tired, uninterested in eating, and busy dealing with each new effect that pops up from the treatment for cancer. Needless to say, it’s been very difficult for her. Normally, she is a people person. Even as a 71-year-old great grandma, she would use up all her available talking and texting limits on her phone, babysit her great grandchild regularly, and visit the “elderly” at her church.

But for now, my encouraging words are reminding my mom that God is taking care of her, and this is only temporary. Through research, I am learning ways to help her deal with her loss of appetite. Each night, I cook a little extra to take to my dad so my mom won’t have to make dinner. With phone calls and brief visits, I can recount the funny stories of my day or drop off reading material to break up the loneliness of forced seclusion due to low white blood cell count. I am privileged to give back to my mom what she has given me my entire life. She will come through this, strong and courageous, and the world will be as it should be.

10 responses »

  1. Your love for your mom rings true. Her description made me smile. I am thankful you are able to be there for her. This is hard but thankful for the support and your honoring her.

  2. Good for you! I can relate as I am in my 5th year now of being cancer free! I know exactly how your mom feels and as much as we don’t want our life to just be about cancer . . . It seems to take over. If I can give one piece of advice, Love her as much as you can but never let pity enter your feelings! I wish her all the best! Stay strong just like she taught you!

  3. It’s hard to see a parent struggle with an illness. Being there and available is the greatest gift you can give each other.

  4. Prayers for both your Mom and you. I remember when my Mom was diagnosed with breast cancer and all that she went thru. It’s difficult, but with God’s help you can give her the encouragement and love that she needs.

  5. You are very brave to share this. What a beautiful tribute to your mom from a daughter who loves her! Your care and acts of kindness to her during this time speak of her legacy inside of YOU!

  6. I’m so sorry to hear that your mom is facing this battle. However, she is not alone because she has such a strong, loving family due in part to her selfless devotion to it over the years. Your love for your mom, and her’s for you, is an inspiration.

  7. Your mom is lucky to have a daughter that will support her through thick or thin. Sounds like it will be a long journey but one that will strengthen your relationship!

  8. Thank you for sharing. It is hard to deal with a sick parent, because you are use to counting on them, but it turns out that they need you. It is good that you can be there for your mom right now.

  9. What a beautiful post, Mrs. Williams. I love your openness and the way you described your relationship with your mom. I know you feel blessed to have your mom and it is clear you are a blessing to her as well!

Leave a Reply

