Morning Message

Standard

3-3-15

On the outside of my office door there is a dry erase board with my weekly schedule. This morning, as I was unlocking my door, I noticed a message.

IMG_0107

Once the grammar guru inside of me ceased its screaming, I looked more closely at the message. I imagined that a sixth grader, maybe on the way to the library, stopped and stealthily took the attached marker and penned the message. Now, there are lots of other messages that could have appeared on my door, yet this student chose to write this one. Suddenly, I didn’t care so much about the grammar. The message was clear. I stood a little straighter, tossed my hair over my shoulder, and began my day with a little spring in my step and a smile on my face.

Two words (three if you write it correctly) made a big difference in my attitude. I need to remember that important truth. With a few simple words, I can lift a fellow teacher’s day, attitude, and confidence. So, if you see me tiptoeing down the hall with a pen and a sticky note, don’t be alarmed. I’m just making someone’s day.

7 responses »

  1. I absolutely love this post, especially the “two words” part! It’s small acts of kindness from the kiddos like this that make our jobs worth it.

  2. I think this is just precious, and I love that you shared it. I’m hoping it was one of my little 6th graders who chose to give such random kindness to one of my friends!

Leave a Reply

