Home is Where the Heart Is

Standard

My husband and I just arrived back home after a couple of days out of town. After putting our purchases and suitcase away, we sat down on the couch to eat pizza and drink a soda. Our dog yapped often, hoping for a morsel of meat or chicken. We popped in a video and cozily watched it from the couch. I looked around, and realized how comfortable it was to be at home. I often talk about the need to “get away”, and sometimes it is necessary, but it’s nice to get back to routine.

After being gone from school and my job as an instructional coach for a week, it will be good to get back to the familiar. There are a couple of big projects waiting for me on my desk. Of course, we will be preparing for our state testing, which is coming up soon. I’ll be happy to get back into the classroom with a new coaching cycle. In addition, I’m excited to continue my kindergarten book study with interesting and creative ways to explore the content of chapter 3.

While I’ll miss the slow mornings of last week, I’m ready to get back to work.

8 responses »

  1. Your sentiment is spot on…about needing to get away. I enjoyed how you described getting home, the comfortableness of it all. Good luck with your new coaching cycle! I am starting a new one next week also! 🙂

  2. I think this is a sign your break was just right: “I often talk about the need to “get away”, and sometimes it is necessary, but it’s nice to get back to routine.” That special feeling about being back in routine is what I love about breaks!

Leave a Reply

