Somewhere Over the Rainbow

Standard

Today was one of THOSE days. You know, when the stars align, somewhere over the rainbow is in your neighborhood, and you can actually SEE the silver linings. These days are rare, but they do happen.

 

IMG_1160

For me, it began with planning. Lesson planning. I know that Franki Sibberson says that, “Lesson planning is truly one of the most important and joyful things we do as teachers.” And, she’s right. It IS joyful…when you sit down with a classroom teacher to plan a coaching cycle. Looking at the data and seeing what students need. Hmmm…main idea. Working together, putting ideas on the table, talking through it, trying something outside the box. As the plan comes together, the joy grows. Going through the process as students would, we learn together.

I know what you’re saying. You’re saying, “It can’t get better than this!”

But yes, it did!

To my surprise, I had a gift from my secret pal.

IMG_1161

Aren’t these the cutest little bowls you’ve ever seen? I’m not sure what I’ll do with them, but I’ll make sure to find something. These babies cannot be stuffed into a cabinet out of sight!

IMG_1162.jpg

I bought fresh flowers to put in vases. Every time I look at them, my heart sings. My aunt used to say, “If I had extra money, I’d buy fresh flowers and hardback books!” Me, too!

I know it’s difficult to bear so much goodness, but tonight, we have nothing planned. That’s right…nothing! I was able to set the table and cook a meal. A meal that didn’t come from a box. A meal that filled my kitchen with aromas that made me feel almost as wonderful as my fresh flowers.

IMG_1168.jpg

Now. Following my blogging, I am going to put my feet up and read.

A book.

A novel.

That I want to read.

That I can’t put down.

IMG_1170

Well, maybe I’ll fall asleep on the couch with a book in my lap, my dog sitting close by, and my husband reading quietly beside me. Somewhere over the rainbow.

3 responses »

  1. What a day! What a beautiful, joyful day!

    I had a rare treat myself–coming home to a empty house–two hours of alone time to finish a book, then read and comment on blogs.

    (Love your socks.)

Leave a Reply

