Life and Loss

Standard

This evening I attended a visitation for a friend whose father passed away a few days ago. As she wiped her eyes, she proudly showed me some of her father’s displayed paintings that he had created for each of his children. I could hear the pain in her voice as she proudly told me the story of each painting.

I couldn’t help but think about my own mom and dad, both in their seventies. Even as I felt the dread in the pit of my stomach, I had to acknowledge that I, too, someday would be receiving friends and family who had come to pay their respects.

I’m not the kind of person who likes to dwell on grievous thoughts. So, I began to see this as an opportunity to be thankful. Thankful for my parents who are alive and well. Thankful for an opportunity to show a friend that I care. Thankful that I’ll have a friend standing with me when I most need the support.

4 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry for your friend’s loss. I have been to too many funerals/wakes lately and it has definitely made me very thankful for everyone I still have in my life. Even this weekend, I have to go to the wake of a 5 year old. The last of this family’s 3 children. The other 2 passed away from the same illness already. It’s horrible. But like you say, all I can do is pray for them and thank God for my healthy children.

  2. Those moments have a way of changing perspective, don’t they. It’s hard to imagine myself walking in those shoes as well, but when that time comes I feel like I have learned how to handle it from those who have walked that path before me. We all take care of each other–glad you were there to take care of your friend.

Leave a Reply

