Baptism

Standard

My niece was baptized today. With her church and family as her witness, she made a public commitment to follow Christ. We sang together. We cried together. And we took communion together.

With no children of my own, both my nieces are very special to me. We have spent a great deal of time together through the years. We have gone on picnics together on hot summer afternoons. We made up silly synchronized swimming routines to our favorite music in my mom’s swimming pool. I loved taking them to the library, art walks, and the park. Both of these sweet girls helped me fix up my first home purchase, an old house that had lots of character, but needed lots of work. I’ve watched them grow up into wonderful young women, both with children of their own now.

And today, I was blessed to be a part of a new beginning.

3 responses »

  1. What a special time for you and your family. At my church, we just finished the final installment in a sermon series called “Sticky Faith”- passing faith to the next generation, whether as a parent, family member, friend or church member.

  2. It was a special time watching her get baptized and seeing the joy and newness in her face as she came out of the water. What a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

