Weather Mayhem

Standard

We have  saying in Missouri, “If you don’t like the weather, just wait a minute.” The weather in our state is like a waffling politician. Already, we’ve had spring-like weather with sunshine, temperatures in the high 70s, and lots of wind. Yesterday, temperatures rose to around 70 degrees with severe thunderstorms in the afternoon. As the hail struck our metal porch roof, I just shook my head. Today, it cooled down to under 50 degrees, and tomorrow we are looking at rain and snow. The weatherman warns that we will have a hard freeze tomorrow night and Monday night. Trees are budding, jonquils are blooming, and my forsythia is beautiful with yellow buds. No matter how intelligent and advanced mankind thinks he is, we are no match for the weather. We are at its mercy. Awed by its beauty and terrified of its power, we are humbled. And while we carry a smartphone that can tell us a joke via a simple request, I’ll still have to go out tomorrow evening and cover my rose bushes with a sheet of plastic. Hmm.IMG_1746.JPG

4 responses »

  1. We’re experiencing the same thing in Virginia. 70 degrees earlier this week and the possibility of some snow tomorrow night and Monday night. I think that the ending of your slice was so powerful-even though we have all of these technological advances, they can’t help us all of the time:)

  2. I am concerned for my Belladonna Lilies. Their spring leaves are already half-way up and I’m afraid the freeze will kill them off, taking away one of our favorite places to hide Easter Eggs!

  3. 1. I like that you called them jonquils and not daffodils. They are one of my favorite flowers! 🙂 I hope your plants don’t freeze with the incoming weather.

    2. “No matter how intelligent and advanced mankind thinks he is, we are no match for the weather. We are at its mercy. Awed by its beauty and terrified of its power, we are humbled.” These lines stuck out to me. They are a wonderful example of how creation compares to its Creator. God could easily replace “weather” and it still be true.

    Thank you for the reminder of being able to see God in all things.

Leave a Reply

