Homemaker

Standard

I usually get home around 45 minutes to an hour before my husband. Today, when I got home, I sorted laundry and threw in a load, put away dishes I had washed last night after dinner, and began preparing for our evening meal. As I walked through the house straightening up, I noticed what I wasn’t getting to. I forgot to water my houseplants last weekend, the shower needs cleaning, and the fine layer of dust on my dresser reminded me I needed to get out the dust rag. I was again reminded that keeping a house in shape for my family really is a full-time job, in addition to the one I already have as an educator. At that moment, my thoughts turned to my mom.

My mom was a stay-at-home mom. A go-getter by nature, she kept a great house. Clean, constantly neat with wonderful aromas coming from her kitchen, I always felt that our home was cozy; a place in which I enjoyed spending my time. As an adult, I can only admire her more, because now I know what it takes to make a house a home. Being a homemaker has often been less thought of by career-minded men and women. Yet, when I look back, I remember that my mom made dinner almost every single night. Yes, part of that was because we didn’t have the extra income my mom could have brought in, but I think it’s more than that. Because of her care in providing well-rounded meals and family time at the table, my brother and I both love to cook. We each enjoy a huge variety of foods, and our families look forward to gathering at the table. Not only that, but every day my brother and I saw an example of hard work right in front of us, since my mom worked at home. She shopped with coupons, cooked meals for other families going through rough spots, and decorated our home within a budget.

If I don’t work too late tomorrow evening, I can clean my shower when I get home. And the dust may have to wait until next week. But tonight, I’ll call my mom and thank her for her example and her diligence in making a welcoming place for my brother and I to make wonderful memories.

3 responses »

  1. I always look forward to summer when I can be a full time homemaker! Being educators means we get the best of both worlds!

  2. It’s a struggle to keep a tidy house while working. I’m no where near on top of things like I used to be before I had kids. My house is clean enough for my son to roll around on the floor, but I wouldn’t want him eating off of the rugs.

Leave a Reply

