Time to Retire

Standard

I will retire at the end of this year. My job opening came out today through email, and my retirement is one step closer to becoming reality. It seems surreal that I’m old enough to retire. I still remember my first year of teaching. I knew very little, but I wanted to teach more than anything. The little school where I began my career became a second home to me. Teaching was more like my hobby…I couldn’t wait for the next day, for Christmas break to end, for the open house that would signal summer break was over and school was about to begin. I loved each and every one of my students, and I made a difference. A few years into my career, I earned my master’s. A lover of learning, I traveled to wonderful professional development opportunities and read every book I could find on the art of teaching. Ten years ago, I left the classroom to work with students as a part of our Title I program. And the last eight years, I’ve worked with students and teachers as an instructional coach.

Where did all the years go?

I am looking forward to a new chapter in life, and I can’t wait to see where this new path will take me, hopefully at a much slower pace! And yet, I can’t help but be a little sad, too, to leave a career full of wonderful memories.

7 responses »

  1. You can finally focus on yourself and not worry about planning! Start thinking about what things are important to you outside of your work! Make a bucket list and have some FUN!!!

  2. Best wishes to you! I’m about two years away and I’m already wondering what it will be like you. Like you I am a learner and I’m looking forward to pursuing new interests.

  3. You are one of the reasons I ever made it past year 1. Your patience, encouragement, and belief that I could be a great teacher was the flotation device I needed to keep my head above water that year.

  4. I, too, remember my first year teaching. I had no idea what I was doing. I’ve learned so much since then and I’m still learning. I can’t see myself retiring any time soon though. Looking forward to your slices next year after a few months of retirement. Good luck finishing out the year.

Leave a Reply

